s

Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam.

732/21 Second Street, Manchester,
King Street, Kingston United Kingdom

(65)323-678-567
(65)323-678-568
info@photographytheme.com

Pi Fb In Fl
Jean Marc Requien peintre sculpteur

jean-marc requien

Jean-Marc Requien

the exhibition titled "Abstraction or Hasty Figures" shows that he has not lost any of his sense of humor. Finally freed from the influence that the Lyon school had on him and especially his teacher Henri Vieilly, he now offers us a dazzling palette of colors that have nothing to envy of Fauvism. Yesterday, a feared pamphleteer, he showed all the colors to the powerful operetta that he still does not like, today, an accomplished artist, he prefers to show us that he knows how to play colors with a mastery that we didn't know him. Who will complain?

He places with precision tones that snap, which vibrate, with daring harmonies sometimes bordering on dissonance. In each of his impeccably constructed puzzles, mysterious figures are mischievously revealed. The face or the silhouette of a passer-by being interviewed? From a missing friend? Of an anonymous man waiting for his quarter of an hour of glory?

Françoise Fossati.
Lyon People.

The invention he displays allows him to be in the lineage of the masters of the genre Schwitters or closer to us Philibert Charron. Heir to the Dadaists and Surrealists of the 1920s, a time when bourgeois art was contested and where collage contributed to the destabilization of established art, Jean Marc Requien was able to find his own identity. He is of course an inventor of images full of sensitivity and humor, but also a true painter who, with or without a brush, knows how to assert the values ​​of real painting.
Make no mistake, Jean Marc Requien knows, since his beginnings, with a look washed of everything a priori, translate the sometimes paradoxical snapshots of our universe in sensitive and singular collages. Color plays the same role in his random constructions as in his paintings. We are almost no longer in collage, and rather, completely in the language specific to painting.
He plays with images as with words. He subtly diverts the messages of images like those of texts from their original meaning. The humor is always present even if some collages are less innocent than the artist would have us believe. You have to linger to discover the author's hidden intentions and ironic punctuations. Humor is king here and poetry, finally queen, has married her.
Jean Marc Requien invites us to play, to dream in front of his collages which always hides behind the real image an unknown figure, sometimes hiding an obvious sign which imperceptibly imposes itself on you to the point of making you forget the original image. The spectator becomes an actor. Become creative, exercising his eye to see something other than the banality of reality. He gets lost in this world where images are no longer as wise as images since they somehow hide what anyone can discover.

s

Nullam id dolor id nibh ultricies vehicula ut id elit. Aenean eu leo quam. Pellentesque ornare sem lacinia quam.

732/21 Second Street, Manchester,
King Street, Kingston United Kingdom

(65)323-678-567
(65)323-678-568
info@photographytheme.com

Pi Fb In Fl

jean-marc requien

l’expo intitulée « abstraction ou figures hâtives » montre qu’il n’a rien perdu de son sens de l’humour. Enfin débarrassé de l’influence qu’a eu sur lui l’école lyonnaise et tout particulièrement son maître Henri Vieilly, il nous offre désormais une palette de couleurs éblouissante qui n’ont rien à envier au fauvisme. Hier, pamphlétaire redouté, il en faisait voir de toutes les couleurs aux puissants d’opérette qu’il n’aime toujours pas, aujourd’hui, artiste accompli, il préfère nous montrer qu’il sait jouer des couleurs avec une maestria qu’on ne lui connaissait pas. Qui s’en plaindra ?

Il place avec justesse des tons qui claquent, qui vibrent, aux harmonies audacieuses frôlant parfois la dissonance. Dans chacun de ses puzzles impeccablement construits se révèlent malicieusement de mystérieuses figures. Le visage ou la silhouette d’une passante entrevue ? D’un ami disparu ? D’un anonyme attendant son quart d’heure de gloire ?

Françoise Fossati.
Lyon People.

L’invention qu’il affiche lui permet de s’inscrire dans la lignée des maîtres du genre Schwitters ou plus près de nous Philibert Charron. Héritier des dadaïstes et des surréalistes des années 20, époque où l’art bourgeois était contesté et où le collage participait de la déstabilisation de l’art établi, Jean Marc Requien a su trouver sa propre identité. C’est bien sûr un inventeur d’images plein de sensibilité et d’humour mais aussi un véritable peintre qui avec ou sans pinceau sait affirmer les valeurs de la vraie peinture.
Ne nous y trompons pas, Jean Marc Requien sait, depuis ses débuts, avec un regard lavé de tout a priori, traduire les instantanés parfois paradoxaux de notre univers dans des collages sensibles et singuliers. La couleur joue, dans ses constructions aléatoires le même rôle que dans ses toiles. Nous ne sommes presque plus dans le collage, et plutôt, complètement dans le langage propre à la peinture.
Il joue avec les images comme avec les mots. Il détourne subtilement les messages des images comme ceux des textes de leur sens originel. L’humour est toujours présent même si certains collages sont moins innocents que l’artiste voudrait nous le faire croire. Il faut s’attarder pour découvrir les intentions cachées et les ponctuations ironiques de l’auteur. L’humour, ici, est roi et la poésie, enfin reine, l’a épousé.
Jean Marc Requien nous invite à jouer, à rêver devant ses collages qui cache toujours derrière l’image réelle une figure inconnue, dissimulant parfois un signe évident qui, insensiblement s’impose à vous au point de vous faire oublier l’image originelle. Le spectateur devient acteur. Devient créatif, exerçant son œil à voir autre chose que la banalité du réel. Il se perd dans ce monde où les images ne sont plus sages comme des images puisqu’elles dissimulent tant bien que mal ce que chacun peut découvrir.